Course Description

A study of the kings and prophets of Israel and Judah placing emphasis on historical content and spiritual application.


Ken Malmin, Professor of Theology

Ken serves as the Dean of PBC as well as fulfilling the role of a full-time professor.

Ken came to Portland Bible College from Oral Roberts University in 1971. After graduating from PBC in 1973 he began teaching that same year and has been a vital part of the college ever since. He became the Dean in 1986. He often refers to his long tenure with "I'm addicted to college students."

Ken is from a family of ministers, his father and grandfathers also being in the ministry. He also serves as an executive pastor and elder Mannahouse and is on the Apostolic Leadership Team of Ministers' Fellowship International (MFI).

Ken has co-authored five textbooks, which are used in the classroom at PBC and around the world. He is known for his ability to illuminate scripture and doctrine with precision while at the same time making it personally applicable.

Ken and  his wife Glenda are like dad and mom to the PBC campus enjoying the opportunity to be personally involved in the lives of many of the students. They also have two adult children that are both married and are also blessed with 5 grandchildren.

Course Outline

This course includes Student Notes and 34 Lectures.

  • 1

    Course Introduction

    • Course Introduction

  • 2


  • 3


    • Student Notes - L06-12

    • L06 - Jeroboam

    • L07 - Jeroboam

    • L08 - Rehoboam

    • L09 - Abijah & Asa

    • L10 - Nadab to Omri

    • L11 - Jehoshaphat

    • L12 - Jehoshaphat

  • 4

    The Prophets

    • Student Notes - L13-15

    • L13 - Prophets

    • L14 - Prophets

    • L15 - Prophets

  • 5


    • Student Notes - L16-17

    • L16 - Ahab

    • L17 - Jehoram, Ahaziah, and Athaliah

  • 6

    Prophets, Elijah and Elisha

    • Student Notes - L18-22

    • L18 - Elijah

    • L19 - Elijah

    • L20 - Elijah

    • L21 - Elisha

    • L22 - Elisha

  • 7


    • Student Notes - L23-27

    • L23 - Three Good Kings

    • L24 - Uzziah and Jotham

    • L25 - Ahaz and Hezekiah

    • L26 - The Last Kings

    • L27 - Josiah